Star Wars Rogue One Countdown: The History of Star Wars

Back to Article
Back to Article

Star Wars Rogue One Countdown: The History of Star Wars

Star Wars

Star Wars

Star Wars

Emily Robertson, Staff Writer

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

GREER — Star Wars has been a popular film to watch since 1977. So far, George Lucas has created seven complete movies and is still working on more.

All of the Star Wars movies were made from 1977 through 2015. There is a new Star Wars movie coming out this December; Star Wars: Rogue One (December 16).

The seven movies that have already been made are: Episode One: The Phantom Menace, Episode Two: Attack of the Clones, Episode Three: Revenge of the Sith, Episode Four: A New Hope, Episode Five: Empire Strikes Back, Episode Six: Return of the Jedi, and Episode Seven: The Force Awakens.

You can watch the movies/episodes in chronological order; however, the movies were made like no other. Lucas strangely released episodes four, five and six before creating episodes one, two and three.

One, two, and three have a lot more animation than four, five, and six because they were made more recently when technology allowed for such creation.

The seventh movie, even though it was the most recent movie, is a mixture between animation and real props.

The new film is set to be released on December 16 with Episode Eight to be released in 2017.

Here is a timeline of when the movies were released to the public.

  • Star Wars Episode 4: A New Hope (1977)
  • Star Wars Episode 5: The Empire Strikes Back (1980)
  • Star Wars Episode 6: Return of the Jedi (1983)
  • Star Wars Episode 1: The Phantom Menace (1999)
  • Star Wars Episode 2: Attack of the Clones (2002)
  • Star Wars Episode 3: Revenge of the Sith (2005)
  • Star Wars Episode 7: The Force Awakens (2015)
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (2016)